5 April 2023

Two Illawarra MPs win seats on Chris Minns' NSW frontbench

| Lizzie Waymouth
Start the conversation
eight people standing on steps

Michael Daley, Prue Car, John Graham, Daniel Mookhey, Chris Minns, Ryan Park, Penny Sharpe and Jo Haylen. Photo: NSW Labor Facebook.

NSW Premier Chris Minns has announced the new Labor frontbench, with women making up half of the cabinet for the first time in the state government’s history – up from seven female ministers under the previous Liberal Perrottet government.

The slightly reduced 22-person cabinet includes some positions that are being held by women for the first time, including Yasmin Catley as Minister for Police and Counter-terrorism and Tara Moriarty as Minister for Regional NSW.

“I’m proud of the team we have. We have a lot of hard work in front of us, and a big responsibility, but my team and I are up to the challenge,” Mr Minns said.

READ ALSO Mobile phones to be banned in NSW high schools

Two Illawarra MPs will also be joining the cabinet – Kiera MP Ryan Park holds the Health, Regional Health and Illawarra and South Coast portfolios, while Member for Wollongong Paul Scully serves as Minister for Planning and Public Spaces.

A former PE teacher, Mr Park has represented the constituency of Kiera since 2011.

“It is an honour to have been appointed as the NSW Minister for Regional Health. As Minister for Health and Regional Health, my top priority is ensuring everyone in NSW can access safe and high-quality healthcare – no matter where they live,” Mr Park said in a statement shared with Region.

“I am fully committed to understanding the unique challenges faced by people in regional, rural and remote communities and will listen to, and act on, any concerns they may have regarding access to safe and high-quality healthcare.

READ ALSO ‘Anyone got a tampon?’ – Free menstrual products available to NSW school students

“We will be focusing on the things that matter most to our regional communities – attracting and retaining regional healthcare workers, providing access to high-quality health services and facilities, working with the Australian Government to streamline access to healthcare through the primary health sector, and connecting and engaging with regional, rural and remote communities.”

Since he stepped into the ministerial role last week, Mr Park has already announced plans to offer a $12,000 subsidy to 2000 students in regional NSW from January 2024. The scholarship will benefit students across the health sector, including 850 nurses, 400 medical graduates and 150 midwives.

“Less than a week after Chris and the team were sworn in, we are already getting on with the job of making our health system even better,” Mr Park said.

Life-long Wollongong local Paul Scully, who has represented the area since 2016, will be taking on the Planning and Public Spaces portfolio. He served as the Shadow Minister for Police and Counter Terrorism since 2022 and was previously Shadow Minister for Planning and Public Spaces and Shadow Minister for Natural Resources.

READ ALSO Pressure on Minns to deliver promised public sector wage increases

Tara Moriarty will join the cabinet as Minister for Regional NSW.

“It’s an honour to be a NSW minister and I am keen to sink my teeth into the Agriculture, Regional NSW and Western NSW portfolios,” Ms Moriarty said in a statement shared with Region.

“We are a diverse ministry that reflects the people of NSW we strive to represent, and we are ready to hit the ground running.

“I will be getting across the issues and meeting with my department and relevant agencies as soon as possible to make sure I know not just the programs underway but also ensure that I understand what the people of NSW and particularly the agricultural sector and regional communities need from our government.”

Ms Moriarty said she would be “diving into rolling out the government’s election commitments in this space, in concert with stakeholders”. These issues include creating an independent Agriculture Commissioner; legislating and funding an Independent Biosecurity Commission; a $10 million good neighbour program to tackle weed and pest infestations on government land; appointing a Dairy and Fresh Food Commissioner; and providing $59 million in funding over the next four years to support Landcare.


The Honourable Christopher John Minns MP

The Honourable Prudence Ann Car MP
Deputy Premier
Minister for Education and Early Learning
Minister for Western Sydney

The Honourable Penelope Gail Sharpe MLC
Minister for Climate Change
Minister for Energy
Minister for the Environment
Minister for Heritage

The Honourable John Graham MLC
Special Minister of State
Minister for Roads
Minister for the Arts
Minister for Music and the Night-time Economy
Minister for Jobs and Tourism

The Honourable Daniel Mookhey MLC

The Honourable Ryan John Park MP
Minister for Health
Minister for Regional Health
Minister for the Illawarra and the South Coast

The Honourable Joanna Elizabeth Haylen MP
Minister for Transport

The Honourable Paul Scully MP
Minister for Planning and Public Spaces

The Honourable Sophie Cotsis MP
Minister for Industrial Relations
Minister for Work Health and Safety

The Honourable Yasmin Maree Catley MP
Minister for Police and Counter-terrorism

The Honourable Jihad Dib MP
Minister for Customer Service and Digital Government
Minister for Emergency Services
Minister for Youth Justice

The Honourable Kate Rebecca Washington MP
Minister for Families and Communities
Minister for Disability Inclusion

The Honourable Michael John Daley MP
Attorney General

The Honourable Tara Moriarty MLC
Minister for Agriculture
Minister for Regional New South Wales
Minister for Western New South Wales

The Honourable Ron Hoenig MP
Minister for Local Government
Vice-President of the Executive Council

The Honourable Courtney Houssos MLC
Minister for Finance
Minister for Natural Resources

The Honourable Stephen Kamper MP
Minister for Small Business
Minister for Lands and Property
Minister for Multiculturalism
Minister for Sport

The Honourable Rose Jackson MLC
Minister for Water
Minister for Housing
Minister for Homelessness
Minister for Mental Health
Minister for Youth
Minister for the North Coast

The Honourable Anoulack Chanthivong MP
Minister for Better Regulation and Fair Trading
Minister for Industry and Trade
Minister for Innovation, Science and Technology
Minister for Corrections

The Honourable Timothy Carson Crakanthorp MP
Minister for Skills, TAFE and Tertiary Education
Minister for the Hunter

The Honourable David Robert Harris MP
Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and Treaty
Minister for Gaming and Racing
Minister for Veterans
Minister for Medical Research
Minister for the Central Coast

The Honourable Jodie Elizabeth Harrison MP
Minister for Women
Minister for Seniors
Minister for the Prevention of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault

The Honourable Jennifer Kathleen Aitchison MP
Minister for Regional Transport and Roads


The Honourable Penelope Gail Sharpe MLC
Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council

The Honourable John Graham MLC
Deputy Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council

The Honourable Ron Hoenig MP
Leader of the Government in the Legislative Assembly.

Start the conversation

Daily Digest

Want the best Illawarra news delivered daily? Every day we package the most popular Illawarra stories and send them straight to your inbox. Sign-up now for trusted local news that will never be behind a paywall.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.